I’m excited to announce that on August 9th, 2017 I will be having a laparoscopic bilateral salpingectomy! I’m getting my fallopian tubes removed!

It is a pretty big decision to make as a 35 year old childless woman, but I have made it and I couldn’t be happier. I have had my heart set on not having children for my entire life, I think. I can remember being a little girl and never thinking about the day I would get married and have a family…all that jazz. I never daydreamed about those things. When my teen years came I was terrified of the peen and still had zero interest in ever having children. People would say “you’ll change your mind when you’re older”. Here I am in my 30s…having been married and (almost) divorced, engaged twice, ALWAYS in a relationship…and I still feel the same way.

Team Coco kids conan obrien thomas middleditch kids are little turds GIF

I feel like I have never had that motherly instinct or urge…ever. Big shout out to my friends and family though. They are super supportive.
I’m 35 years old and some people are still saying to me “you might change your mind someday” or “won’t you regret not having kids?” Well, not to be rude but…it’s really none of your goddamn concern. It does not have any affect on your life. Zero. Zilch. I can proudly say this is my body and I will do what I want with it. I was a little surprised that my insurance company is paying for it completely…and my gyno didn’t give me any crap at all about it. But all the better for me!

I’m most excited about not having to be on birth control for the rest of my life. Not because I’m lazy and don’t want to be responsible or that I forget to take the pill, but because it’s not great for my health to be on it for that long… there are many risks with the pill and I have already been on them for about 17 years.
This is permanent sterilization. I will not get pregnant. This procedure also greatly lowers chances of ovarian cancer. I will still have my period. My hormones will not be affected. I will still go through menopause. It is not reversible. I know I will never change my mind but if it makes my audience feel better, if I was extremely desperate to have kids I could do IVF…harvest my egg and implant it into my uterus with sperm. There ya go. Now you’re not freaking out, right? I’m glad I could set your mind at ease!

Power season 3 tv show starz power GIF

